Adelaide Cabaret Festival’s Cabaret Icon Award celebrates and acknowledges pioneers and leading figures that have had a significant impact on the Australian Cabaret industry.

The first Cabaret Icon Award was presented in 2013 when the Festival was under the artistic direction of Kate Ceberano. The Award is now an annual tradition we are proud to present to our country’s finest cabaret creators.

Previous recipients of the award include the inaugural recipient Reg Livermore AO (2013), Rhonda Burchmore (2014), Frank Ford AM (2015), Robyn Archer (2016). The 2017 award was presented to Debra Byrne on the closing night of the Adelaide Cabaret Festival.

Vika Bull accepting the award from Eddie Perfect and Ali McGregor on behalf of Debra Byrne.

The beautiful glass microphone award is hand-sculpted in Adelaide by artists from the JamFactory.

Image: Claudio Raschella